top of page

Series 20: Series of a Paranormal Life- Trying to Sleep




Trying to sleep was out of the question. After hearing all those incredible stories from Cindy’s father, I wanted to hear more.


We had made a makeshift bed out in the living room as all 5 of the girls shared the Master bedroom.

Cindy came from a large family, 5 girls and 2 boys, so the girls had 3 beds in the large room. The eldest 2 on a queen size, Cindy and her closest sibling on a full size with youngest 2-year-old on a smaller twin.

The boys shared a room, while her parents slept in the third bedroom in this 3-bedroom, 2 bath home. They were of Mexican-American descent, with a Catholic religion. They were a very typical American family with rooted values in working hard, while helping out your fellow man and woman.

During the story time, Cindy’s father said something about having the house blessed but that this Diablo worked around it each time.

“My God your family has been through a lot. How many times have you had this house Blessed again?”

Eagerly, Cindy went on. I think she was just as glad as I was that someone was listening. “Twice as of now but that only works for a few days, one time several weeks went by, but it just made it madder.”

“What do you mean, made it madder? What more is happening here?” I pleaded.

“Well, one night, just a few days after the house was Blessed for the second time and after all my sisters had gone to bed, I woke up in the middle of the night and saw a tall dark shadow leaning over my youngest sister, like he was kissing her.”

I interrupted, “What the heck?”

“Wait, that’s not all. I laid there watching this and decided that I had to do something. I sat straight up in my bed and screamed for my father, “Daaaaaddd, daaaadd, there’s a man in the room!”

“Oh my God.” I interjected sitting up, wide eyed and captivated by her story.

Cindy went on, “I could hear my dad at the door, even though we never lock our door, he couldn’t open it! He was pounding on the door, yelling, “Unlock this door, I can’t get in!” I kept yelling, ‘It’s not locked’ but I couldn’t get off my bed to see why he couldn’t open it, like I was frozen. All of a sudden, this dark shadow flew up onto the ceiling, turned into a small looking creature and started moving across the ceiling towards my oldest sister’s bed. It swooped down and snarled at me, while it jumped on my oldest sister and scratched her right arm.”

Interrupting again, in somewhat disbelief, yet a clear understanding, I screamed, “Oh my God, how horrible!” Believing every word, I encouraged her to go on, “What happened next, did your dad get in the room, did that creature leave?”

“My sister yelled out in pain, waking up everyone in the room. My dad nearly fell through the door as it violently opened. The creature flew up towards the ceiling and disappeared. Dad threw on the lights and everyone was freaking out. My sister’s arm was bleeding, the baby was crying. I could finally move so I jumped off my bed and ran over to the baby. Picked her up as my dad wildly looked around the room trying to see if everyone was okay.”

“WOW! What a nightmare come true!” I continued, “How long ago was this? Was your sister’s arm badly cut?”

“Oh, this just happened a few months ago.” Cindy quickly added, “My sisters arm had three deep gashes, but it healed within a few days.”

My mind was racing with questions, I didn’t know where to begin so, I just leaned over and hugged my new best friend. While holding her tight, I could feel her relax into my embrace as she began to cry.

“You don’t know how good it feels to have someone believe me. I told a few other friends and they just laughed it off as a bad dream,” she wept as I began to console her.

“Oh my god, you and your family have been through so much in this house. If the blessings aren’t working what will you do?”

Sitting back, Cindy wiped her eyes and said, “My dad says we can’t afford to move. Where would we go anyways? This is our home but what if we move and these things come with us?”

“That’s a good point.” I had to agree, “This is by far the worst I have even heard. These diablos are everywhere, and they seem to be getting worse. If they have the power to hurt us, they are getting stronger.”

Trying to comfort her, I went on, “But hey, we now have each other, if anything happens we will stick together and get stronger too!”

“Yeah, that is good to hear. I know that there is a lot of bad things in this world but a lot of good things too. Like meeting you and being able to talk about it without feeling like I am the crazy one.”

Cindy tried laughing and lightened up the mood by saying, “When you feel like something is wrong, just pick up the phone and call me. I will be right over.”

“Aww, yeah, thanks, same goes for you. We are sisters now! For all times, I think I knew that as soon as I met you.”

“Me to, it is nice to have a friend that understands what I am going through and isn’t making fun of me.”

Leaning in for another hug, I told her, “Let’s try and get some sleep. Tomorrow is another day and right now it doesn’t feel like any dark shadows are around.”

“Sounds good to me, see you in the morning.”

As I turned over on my stomach, I could hear Cindy saying a prayer, “Our Father, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, Glory be to the father, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, hail Mary, Glory be to the father, our father.”

As she continued her prayer, I felt a peace come over me, slipping in and out of my slumber, I remember hearing what seemed like the end of her prayer, “Let us pray. O GOD, whose only begotten Son, by His life, death, and resurrection, has purchased for us the rewards of eternal life, grant, we beseech Thee, that meditating upon these mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, we may imitate what they contain and obtain what they promise, through the same Christ Our Lord. Amen.”

Falling fast asleep I recalled saying, “Amen.”

To be continued…

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page